Urban Renewal Authority Board

A Bit About Urban Renewal

Urban renewal authorities (URAs) are created by municipalities to redevelop areas within their jurisdiction that are found to contain blight or slum conditions and require public participation to attract redevelopment. An urban renewal project is a public/private partnership. The majority of the funding comes from the private sector, public investment comes from tax increment financing (TIF), which is the increased amount of property tax or municipal sales tax revenue collected within the URA after the project begins. This new revenue is generated by the increased property values that result the project. URAs are voluntarily filing financial information and updates on project progress in standard annual reports developed by the Colorado Municipal League and Downtown Colorado Inc.

Executive Director

Dustin Stambaugh - City Administrator

Current Board Members

The Urban Renewal Authority Board consists of City Council, and one representative appointed by the County Commissioners, one School Board member appointed by the District, and one representative selected by the agreement of the Special Districts levying a mill-levy in Walsenburg. Once these positions are filled an at large representative will be appointed so the Board consists of an uneven number of members. see CRS 31-25-104(2.5)

Chairman Arica Andreatta Huerfano County
Member Charles Bryant City of Walsenburg
Member Greg Daniels City of Walsenburg
Member Carmen Lara City of Walsenburg
Member Ricky Jennings City of Walsenburg
Member Don Martinez City of Walsenburg
Member Nick Vigil City of Walsenburg
Member Veronica Maes City of Walsenburg
Member Edie Flannigan RE-1 School District
Member vacant Special Districts
Member vacant At Large


Resolution 2015 R-33

Resolution 2015 R-32

2015 Conditions Survey

Urban Renewal Plan for the Central Walsenburg Urban Renewal Project

CML Issues -- Urban Renewal